TU LogoTechnische Universität Wien

Group Leader

Hannes Mikula

Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

phone: +43 (1) 58801 - 163721

e-mail: hannes.mikula@tuwien.ac.at

<< CV >>

<< Research interests and projects >>

Professors

Johannes Fröhlich

Univ.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

phone: +43 (1) 58801 - 406100

e-mail: johannes.froehlich@tuwien.ac.at

<< CV >>

<< Research interests and projects >>


Young Principal Investigators

Brigitte Holzer

Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

phone: +43 (1) 58801 - 163172

e-mail: brigitte.holzer@tuwien.ac.at

<< CV >>

<< Research interests and projects >>


Senior Staff

Christian Hametner

Ass.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

 

phone: +43 (1) 58801 - 163607

 e-mail: christian.hametner@tuwien.ac.at

Ernst Horkel

Senior Lecturer Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

phone: +43 (1) 58801 - 163609

e-mail: ernst.horkel@tuwien.ac.at


Co-affiliated Researchers

Christoph Denk

Senior Scientist Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

phone: +43 (1) 58801 - 163174

e-mail: christoph.denk@tuwien.ac.at

Christoph joined the group in 2012. During his PhD (finished in 2016) he focused on bioorthogonal ligations, radiolabeling, and PET imaging. Since 2019, he is a Senior Scientist at the Center for Labeling and Isotope Production (CLIP) with a co-affiliation at the IAS in our group.


Postdoctoral Researchers

Stefan Kronister

Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

e-mail: stefan.kronister@tuwien.ac.at

Stefan studied chemistry at TU Wien and started his PhD in our group in 2016 aiming for the development of new bioorthogonal strategies for local prodrug activation by combining nanoparticle- and ligand-based targeting. Since 2020 he is a postdoctoral researcher within the project bioTIME.

Philipp Skrinjar

Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

e-mail: philipp.skrinjar@tuwien.ac.at

During his PhD thesis (finished in 2017) Philipp focused on new diagnostic tools and in vitro assays. Currently he works as a postdoctoral researcher on the development of new methods for the bioorthogonal targeting of RNA (project 'bioSTAR').

Dennis Svatunek

Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

e-mail: dennis.svatunek@tuwien.ac.at
web: https://www.dsvatunek.com/

Dennis' research focuses on the kinetics of bioorthogonal reactions, following a combined theoretical and experimental approach. Following his Postdoc (Schrödinger fellowship, Austrian Science Fund) in the group of Prof. Kendall Houk at UCLA (2018-2020), he recently returned to TU Wien as a young investigator (Schrödinger Return Phase, Austrian Science Fund).

Julia Weber

Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

e-mail: julia.weber@tuwien.ac.at

During her PhD, Julia focused on glycosylation reactions, protecting groups and mycotoxin chemistry. Following a Postdoc (Schrödinger Fellowship, Austrian Science Fund) in the group of Prof. Geert-Jan Boons at Utrecht University (2018-2020), Julia just returned to TU Wien as a young investigator (Schrödinger Return Phase, Austrian Science Fund).


PhD Students

Dorian Bader

Dipl.-Ing.

e-mail: dorian.bader@tuwien.ac.at

Dorian started his PhD in October 2018 and is currently working on new strategies for self assembling systems.

Nicole Houszka

Dipl.-Ing.

e-mail: nicole.houszka@tuwien.ac.at

Nici started working on her PhD project in 2019 focusing on new in vivo chemical strategies to achieve 'target-hopping' and bioorthogonally triggered cellular uptake.

Thomas Kader

Dipl.-Ing.

e-mail: thomas.kader@tuwien.ac.at

Thomas studied chemistry at TU Wien focusing on organic synthesis. Since 2016 he is working on his PhD thesis towards the synthesis of new planarized functional organic materials.

Patrick Keppel

Dipl.-Ing.

e-mail: patrick.keppel@tuwien.ac.at

Patrick joined the research group in 2018. His work focuses on the optimization of bioorthogonal bond-cleavage reactions with emphasis on versatility, reaction kinetics and release efficiency.

Walter Kuba

Dipl.-Ing.

e-mail: walter.kuba@tuwien.ac.at

After finishing his diploma thesis in our group, Walter started his PhD project in close collaboration with the Austrian Institute of Technology. His work focuses on the development of next-generation tools for bioorthogonal bond-cleavage and the synthesis of radiolabeled compounds.

Nikolaus Poremba

Dipl.-Ing.

e-mail: nikolaus.poremba@tuwien.ac.at

Nikolaus first joined the group in 2016 as a Bachelor student and finished his diploma thesis in 2019. His aim is the development of new potentially TADF emitters, used in OLEDs.

Veronika Rosecker

Dipl.-Ing.

e-mail: veronika.rosecker@tuwien.ac.at

Veronika studied chemistry with emphasis on synthetic- and radio-chemistry at TU Wien. She started her PhD thesis in 2017 and works on the development of radiopharmaceutical probes for diagnosis and therapy utilizing bioorthogonal click chemistry.

Barbara Sohr

Dipl.-Ing.

e-mail: barbara.sohr@tuwien.ac.at

Barbara is a 4th year PhD student and works on the development of bioorthogonal hypoxia sensitive probes. Furthermore, she applies bioorthogonal chemistry to facilitate intracellular cleavage reactions and drug release.

Martin Wilkovitsch

Dipl.-Ing.

e-mail: martin.wilkovitsch@tuwien.ac.at

Martin was trained in synthetic chemistry at TU Wien and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He started his PhD thesis in 2017 and currently works on the development of new chemical tools for bioorthogonal in vivo ligation and cleavage reactions. Since 2019 he is a team member within the project 'bioSTAR'.


Diploma Students

Tori Demuth

e-mail: tori.demuth@tuwien.ac.at

In the course of her diploma thesis Tori focuses on the development of bioorthogonal targeting strategies for the delivery of radionuclides.

Birgit Meindl

e-mail: birgit.meindl@tuwien.ac.at

Birgit is a Master's student at TU Wien and currently working on her diploma thesis on N-substituted indolo[3,2,1-jk]carbazole based materials for organic electronics. 

Martin Pressler

e-mail: martin.pressler@tuwien.ac.at

Martin studies chemistry at TU Wien. He joined the lab in 2019 to work on his Master's thesis on the development of multifunctional ligands for radiopharmaceuticals.

Andrea Schiefer

e-mail: andrea.schiefer@tuwien.ac.at

Andrea joined the lab in 2020 to start working on her Diploma project focusing on bioorthogonal drug targeting and activation strategies.